The Society of Women Engineers Recognizes Individuals Making Strides in the STEM Community

By on February 1, 2019

The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) today announced the recipients of its annual WE Local awards program. The program recognizes the successes of SWE members and individuals who enhance the engineering profession through contributions to industry, education and the community. WE Local Awards provide additional opportunities to recognize outstanding SWE members, SWE groups and individuals.

This year’s award recipients will be recognized at the WE Local conferences held in Baltimore February. 8-9; Tampa February 15-16; St. Louis March 1-2; Denver March 15-16; Bellevue, Washington Apr. 5-6; Bengaluru, India April 11-13; and Berlin, Germany May 15-17. The conferences will gather professional and collegiate men and women in engineering and technology for professional development, education and networking.

The awards recipients are as follows:

WE Local Legacy – The WE Local Legacy Award recognizes SWE members who have made a significant contribution(s) to the Society of Women Engineers at all levels of the Society and the engineering profession for at least 15 years.

  • Kerrie Greenfelder, P.E., DBIA, Burns & McDonnell, WE Local Denver
  • Denise Love, Walt Disney Company, WE Local Tampa
  • Michele O’Shaughnessy, U. S. Department of Energy, Savannah River Site, WE Local Tampa

WE Local ELiTE – The WE Local ELiTE Award honors women engineers who have been actively engaged in an engineering or technology profession and have 10 to 15 years of cumulative engineering experience.

  • Sunita Lavin, PMP, Burns & McDonnell, WE Local St. Louis
  • Kristine Barnes, P.E., General Motors, WE Local Denver
  • Ragan Gum, Cerner, WE Local Denver
  • Theresa Krack, Honeywell Aerospace, WE Local Bellevue
  • Jamie Krakover, The Boeing Company, WE Local St. Louis
  • Melissa Stiegler, Emerson, WE Local St. Louis
  • Pearl Yamaguchi, Medtronic, WE Local Denver

Read more.


About Dede Hance