Single-Family Permits Down 3% Compared to Last Year at this Time

By on January 4, 2019

“Single-family permits are down three percent compared to last year at this time, but builders are hopeful recent declines in mortgage interest rates will spur activity as we finish off 2018. Affordability is a concern for builders as they work to manage material and labor costs to keep new home prices competitive,” said John Suelthaus, 2019 President of the Home Builders Association of St. Louis & Eastern Missouri.

HBA Permit Reporting Details

The enclosed permit report is intended to give an accurate count of new home building permits in the St. Louis area but may not be inclusive of every permit being issued by every HBA member in the market. Please keep the following in mind when viewing this report:

  • The report does not include homes built in Illinois.
  • All figures represent new construction only.
  • This report does not include numbers for select jurisdictions that historically have very few permits, do not track permits or do not have a building department.
  • This report does not attribute permits to an HBA member building as a separate LLC or similar entity.
  • Attached homes are classified as single family homes, not multifamily.
  • The St. Louis County data includes the unincorporated area and 41 additional municipalities, as follows: Ballwin, Black Jack, Brentwood, Bridgeton, Chesterfield, Clarkson Valley, Clayton, Crestwood, Creve Coeur, Des Peres, Ellisville, Eureka, Fenton, Florissant, Frontenac, Glendale, Grantwood Village, Green Park, Hazelwood, Huntleigh, Kirkwood, Ladue, Manchester, Maplewood, Maryland Heights, Olivette, Pacific, Rock Hill, Shrewsbury, Sunset Hills, Town & Country, University City, Valley Park, Webster Groves, Westwood Village and Wildwood.
  • The St. Charles County data includes the unincorporated area and Cottleville, Dardenne Prairie, Josephville, Lake St. Louis, New Melle, O’Fallon, Old Monroe, St. Charles City, St. Paul, St. Peters and Wentzville.
  • The Jefferson County data includes the unincorporated area and Arnold, Crystal City, DeSoto, Festus, Herculaneum, Hillsboro and Pevely.
  • The Franklin County data includes the unincorporated area and Pacific, Union and Washington.
  • The Lincoln County data includes the unincorporated area and Foley, Moscow Mills, Troy and Winfield.
  • The Warren County data includes the unincorporated area and Village of Innsbrook, Warrenton and Wright City.
  • The City of St. Louis includes new homes in the first column and gut rehab units are in the second column.


November 2018 Comparison Report

November 2018 Percentage Breakdown




About Dede Hance