Nominations Open for 4th Forum “Building Tomorrow Awards”

By on September 11, 2018

Online nominations are now being accepted for the fourth annual Construction Forum STL “Building Tomorrow Awards. The awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions in the core areas which the Forum was founded to address: Diversity, Workforce Development, Regional Unity and Working Relationships.

The awards will be presented at a luncheon event at the LiUNA Event Center on Tuesday, November 13.

Sponsorship opportunities are available.

This event is a fundraiser for the Construction Forum Education Foundation, benefiting research and K-12 STEM education focused on construction. For sponsorship information contact Tom Finan at or 314.743.7505.

Nominations can be submitted online, by clicking this link.

Click here to register to attend.

Construction Forum STL’s mission is, “Building the St. Louis Region’s tomorrow, through inclusive engagement, unbiased communication, and focused action.” Award categories conform to Construction Forum STL’s four core focus areas of diversity/inclusion; workforce development; regionalism; and collaboration.

Judging criteria for the awards are as follows:

Diversity – Awarded to a recipient who has made a significant positive impact on the state of workforce diversity within the construction industry in the greater St. Louis region.

Past recipients: Abe Adewale, president, ABNA, 2015; Jeff Aboussie, executive secretary-treasurer, St. Louis Building and Construction Trades Council, 2016; Tracy Elsperman Hart, president, Tarlton Corporation, (Individual) 2017; STL-KC Carpenters Regional Council (Organization), 2017.

Working Relationships Award – Awarded to the recipient who has demonstrated leadership in facilitating the establishment and growth of WIN-WIN relationships among labor, organizations, and businesses within the construction community.

Past recipients:  Bruce Holland, CEO Holland Construction, 2015; The Electrical Connection, 2016; Mike Myers, COO, Castle Contracting, 2017.

Regional Unity Award – Awarded to a recipient who has helped grow the greater St. Louis region construction industry by enabling local businesses to reach their potential.

Mary Lamie

Past recipients: Chris Reichert, CEO, Stifel Bank and Trust, 2015; John Nations, president and CEO, Bi-State 2016; Mary Lamie, Executive Director, St. Louis Regional Freightway, 2017.

Workforce Development Award (Individual)– Awarded to a recipient who has helped the future sustainability of the St. Louis construction industry by developing the interest of today’s youth and/or young adults in pursuing construction career opportunities.

Past recipients: Jay Boleach, CTE instructor, Ferguson/Florissant, 2015; Beth Barton, president, Missouri Women in Trades, 2016; Jim Duane, BUD, 2017 (Individual); Building Futures, 2017 (Organization).

Steve Smith

Construction Forum St. Louis Board of Advisors’ Award  – Awarded to the recipient whose career achievements in the construction industry and long-term impact in the community most exemplified the Forum’s Mission Statement of “Making St. Louis a Better Place to Live, Work, and Build”.

Past recipients: Ron Unterreiner, founder PEOPLE, 2015; Jim Frey, (retired), Alberici, 2016, Steve Smith, CEO, Lawrence Group, 2017.


Article edited 9/18/18 to revise date of event and add registration link.

About Tom Finan