Nominations Open for Third “Building Tomorrow Awards”

By on September 8, 2017

Online nominations are now being accepted for the third annual Construction Forum STL “Building Tomorrow Awards. The awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions in the core areas which the Forum was founded to address: Diversity, Workforce Development, Regional Unity and Working Relationships.

The awards will be presented at a luncheon event at the Moto Museum on Wednesday, October 25.

Sponsorship opportunities are available.

This event is a fundraiser for the Construction Forum Education Foundation, benefiting research and K-12 STEM education focused on construction. For sponsorship information contact  Tom Finan at or 314.743.7505.

Nominations can be submitted online, by clicking this link.

Registration will be open soon.

Construction Forum STL’S mission is, “Building the St. Louis Region’s tomorrow, through inclusive engagement, unbiased communication, and focused action.” Award categories conform to Construction Forum STL’s four core focus areas of diversity/inclusion; workforce development; regionalism; and collaboration.

Judging criteria for the awards are as follows:

Bruce Holland with Steve FaustBuilding Tomorrow Diversity Award – Awarded to a recipient who has made a significant positive impact on the state of workforce diversity within the construction industry in the greater St. Louis region.

Past recipients: Abe Adewale, president, ABNA, 2015; Jeff Aboussie, executive secretary-treasurer, St. Louis Building and Construction Trades Council, 2016.


Steve Faust, left, representing Construction Forum STL, presents an the 2015 Working Relationships Award to Bruce Holland, of Holland Construction Services.

Working Relationships Award – Awarded to the recipient who has demonstrated leadership in facilitating the establishment and growth of WIN-WIN relationships among labor, organizations, and businesses within the construction community.

Past recipients:  Bruce Holland, CEO Holland Construction, 2015; The Electrical Connection, 2016.

Regional Unity Award – Awarded to a recipient who has helped grow the greater St. Louis region construction industry by enabling local businesses to reach their potential.

Past recipients: Chris Reichert, CEO, Stifel Bank and Trust, 2015; John Nations, president and CEO, Bi-State.

Workforce Development Award – Awarded to a recipient who has helped the future sustainability of the St. Louis construction industry by developing the interest of today’s youth and/or young adults in pursuing construction career opportunities.

Past recipients: Jay Boleach, CTE instructor, Ferguson/Florissant, 2015; Beth Barton, president, Missouri Women in Trades, 2016.

Construction Forum St. Louis Board of Advisors’ Award  – Awarded to the recipient whose career achievements in the construction industry and long-term impact in the community most exemplified the Forum’s Mission Statement of “Making St. Louis a Better Place to Live, Work, and Build”.

Past recipients: Ron Unterreiner, founder PEOPLE, 2015; Jim Frey, (retired), Alberici, 2016.

About Tom Finan